Official Proceedings of the Stutsman County Budget Hearing – October 7, 2021

At 6:00 p.m., the Stutsman County budget hearing was called to order by Chairman Mark Klose. Dennis Ova (via phone), Ramone Gumke, Joan Morris, Steven Cichos, and Mark Klose answered the roll call.

Jessica Alonge, Interim Auditor/COO, presented the proposed 2022 County Budget and 2021 Property Tax Levy. The budget includes a 3% cost of living increase and a 2% step increase for all eligible employees. Revenues increased by \$1,734.087. This is mostly due to transfers between funds and CARES funding. Expenditures increased for 2022 by \$1,421.838. The total proposed mill levy is 73.94 and the total 2021 taxable value is \$131,522,930. The total mill levy increased by 2.92 from 2020. This would result in a \$19.73 increase for a \$150,000 residential property.

Klose asked for public input. There were no comments.

Gumke made a motion, seconded by Morris, to adopt the proposed 2022 County Budget. Ova, Gumke, Morris, Cichos, and Klose voted aye. Motion carried.

Cichos made a motion, seconded by Gumke, to certify the 2021 Property Tax Levies. Motion carried.

Gumke made a motion, seconded by Morris, to adopt the 2022-2026 Capital Improvement Plan. Morris, Cichos, Klose, Ova, and Gumke voted aye. Motion carried.

Alonge discussed the 2022 Budgeted Transfers. The only new item is the CARES funds that will be transferred to the General Fund. Morris made a motion to approve the transfers, seconded by Ova. Cichos, Klose, Ova, Gumke, and Morris voted aye. Motion carried.

Approval is needed for the Auditor to certify the Central Valley Health District mill levy with the Logan County auditor. Cichos made a motion, seconded by Gumke, to approve. Klose, Ova, Gumke, Morris, and Cichos voted aye. Motion carried.

Morris recognized and thanked Jessica Alonge and Shannon Larson for their hard work on the budget process.

At 6:18 p.m., Gumke made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Morris. Motion carried.

ATTEST:	
	 Mark T. Klose
Interim Auditor/COO	Commission Chairman