Official Proceedings of the Stutsman County Commission and Water Resource Board Joint Special Meeting

— November 27, 2024

At 10:00 a.m., Chairman Klose called the special meeting of the joint Stutsman County Commission and Water Resource Board to order. Jerry Bergquist, Chad Wolsky, Levi Taylor, and Mark Klose, were present. Joan Morris was present via phone. Anthony Roorda opened the meeting for the Water Resource Board. Water Resource Board members present were: Anthony Roorda, Dennis Clark, John Shock, and Arlyn Schmidt. Additionally present was Greg Spenningsby, Board alternate. Chairman Joel Lees was present via phone.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Michael Gunsch, Houston Engineering, presented an update on the Crystal Springs Watershed Initiative. Gunsch stated that the Steering Committee has met and there has been a GIS database created by Houston Engineering for the study. Gunsch has been collaborating with ND Game & Fish on obtaining bathymetry and topography data to incorporate into the GIS database for the study. Gunsch stated that in working alongside the ND Department of Water Resources that he has been monitoring water levels and groundwater levels.

Gunsch stated that local funding commitments have been made up to \$80,000 which includes a \$20,000 contribution from BNSF, not including the separate agreement of a \$20,000 in kind contribution. The State Water Commission has contributed their portion of the cost-share grant agreement in the amount of \$99,900 pending approval from Stutsman County.

There was also discussion regarding additional entities providing funding for the project.

Bergquist brought up a previous discussion on which account would be used for the county's share of study funds. Jessica Alonge, Auditor/COO, stated that the funds would come from fund 98, the local assistance and tribal consistency fund, whose grant funds have not been allocated. Taylor made a motion to contribute up to \$42,100 towards the feasibility study coming from fund 98, seconded by Wolsky. Roll call vote: Bergquist, Wolsky, Morris, Taylor, and Klose voted aye. Motion carried.

A motion to sign and approve the Agreement for Cost-Share Reimbursement between the State of North Dakota through the State Water Commission and the Stutsman County Commission was made by Bergquist, seconded by Taylor. Roll call vote: Wolsky, Morris, Taylor, Klose, and Bergquist voted aye. Motion carried.

A motion to enter into the Corridor Study Cooperative Agreement with BNSF to secure the \$20,000 contribution and \$20,000 in kind contribution was made by Bergquist, seconded by Wolsky. Roll call vote: Morris, Taylor, Klose, Bergquist, and Wolsky voted aye. Motion carried.

Gunsch requested approval to send letters to local funding organizations requesting that funds be sent to the county auditor, and letters to anyone requesting meeting and update notifications. A motion to proceed with the study and send letters to interested parties was made by Wolsky, seconded by Morris. Roll call vote: Taylor, Klose, Bergquist, Wolsky, and Morris voted aye. Motion carried.

Taylor made a motion to establish a fund for payments and fund acceptance for the feasibility study, seconded by Wolsky. Roll call vote: Klose, Bergquist, Wolsky, Morris, and Taylor voted aye. Motion carried.

carried.	
At 10:45 a.m. a motion to adjourn on behalf of by John Shock. Motion carried.	f the water resource was made by Dennis Clark and seconded
ATTEST:	
Jessica Alonge Auditor/COO	Commission Chairman
Joel Lees, Chairman or Anthony Roorda, Vice Chairman	_